Every year the Branch provides scholarships to women who reside in Burlington County and are continuing their education in the fall of that year.

Dorothy Brandt Memorial Scholarship awarded to non-traditional student. A non-traditional student is someone who had an interruption of several years prior to pursuing a college degree, or someone who waited until later in life to start college. High school graduates proceeding directly to college are ineligible for this scholarship.

Maryann Toutant Memorial Scholarship awarded to a student majoring in any STEM’s program.

Spring               Dorothy Brandt                       Maryann Toutant
   of                    Memorial Scholarship            Memorial Scholarship
2023                  Jasman Kaur                               Miranda Sackner
2022                  Natalie Diaz                                Christina Scillieri
2021                   Jeanne Yaeger                           Brittany Williams
2020                   Heather Plasencia                    Ebonee Fraser
2019                   Tiffany Kay                                 Kristie Johnson
2018                   Jamieka Daniels                        Michele Parker Hogan
2017                   Adrienne Barnwell                   Krista Kunkel
2016                   Jennifer Lee-Herman               Kami Bauer-Hammerquist
2015                   Anne Ferris                                Mallissa Saylor
2013                   Stephanie Baver                       Eileen Miller

2023 Scholarship Recipients

Jasman Kaur was 16 years old when she left India and came to the U.S.  She brought with her the understanding of the significance of of education.  She completed an Associates degree in Biology and then enrolled in the Dental Hygiene program. She is a member of the Phi Theta Kappa and the Chi Alpha Epsilon honor societies.

Coming to the US has taught her to adapt to change.  This experience as also improved her critical thinking, problem solving and communication skills. She volunteers at Robert Wood Johnson and local libraries, and Give Kids a Smile day. She finds joy in assisting people to regain confidence through a beautiful smile. She aspires to become a dentist.

A quote from Faith Zimmes one of her instructor  “Jasman is an excellent student who always sets high standards for herself in academics and clinical skills. She consistently ranks in the top of each of her classes and strives to go beyond what is expected.” In addition, “she is well grounded, patient and empathetic.  She is worthy recipient of this scholarship.”

Miranda Sackner has two degrees: one in liberal arts and science and one specifically in science. She has enrolled in RCBC Dental Hygiene program. She plans to continue to her BA in Health Studies with RCBC 3+1 program, and continue to get her MS in integrative Medicine and Nutritional Science at Thomas Jefferson and then hopefully to get her PhD. in  preventative holistic medicine and nature. Miranda shared her gratitude for this scholarship opportunity and hopes to one day be able to offer her own skills to create opportunities for future education in healing our planet and communities.

2022 Scholarship Recipients






Natalie Diaz has a 3.90 GPA and will graduate with a degree in Nursing with plans to complete her BSN at Rowan University. While pursuing her degree at RCBC she volunteered at COVID-19 clinics in the area. She believes that nothing in life is impossible and that hard work pays off.

Christina Scillieri has a 4.00 GPA and majored in Political Science. She will be continuing her undergraduate studies at Stetson University in Deland, FL and pursue a law degree at Seton Hall University. Christina served as an officer of the Student Government Association and a member the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. She believes that no matter what your circumstances are it is you who gets to decide the direction of your future. She was named RCBC’s Class of 2022 Valedictorian.

2022 scholarship program l to r: Christina Scillieri, Sharon Suber, AAUW Branch President & Natalie Diaz